Run in Rome, run in an open-air museum.

Rome now, today as two thousand years ago. The forever invincible and eternal Rome. A city where you fall in love at each and every step, where every step will make you feel a glorious marathoner.

Rome awaits you, glorious, colorful and loud. Rome is unique. With it’s thrilling romantic sunset on the Gianicolo and the quiet sunrise on Lungotevere. 42.195 km rich of art and history, cobblestones stepped by the crumpled sandals of roman gladiators in the past and by hundreds of thousands of marathoners in the last 25 years.

Runners in Rome became real marathoners. Eternal. Runners who’s tears started at the Colosseum and along the Fori Imperial, during the first kilometer of a long journey called Marathon. Whom cried again at the finish line, because the joy of achieving a medal is always unbearable.

Alongside the journey, each marathoner has encountered monuments and places that only Rome, in the whole world can offer, emotions that only the eternal city can give.  The road strolls by, asphalt and cobblestones, maritime pines and applauses oh thousands of fans along the streets embrace this unique open-air museum, one can find only here.

Who runs in Rome, makes history, runs in history, retraces the history.

Rome’s marathon through history, from 1906. The winners and its evolution up to today’s Acea Run Rome the Marathon.

The marathon has ancient roots, here in Rome it has a strong tradition. We can go back a century, up to April 2, 1906, when Dorando Pietri won the marathon crossing the finish line in Piazza di Siena. Or we can go back 60years, to the magic night in 1960 when during the Olympic Games in Rome, Ethiopian Abebe Bikila opens the season of African Marathoners, running bare footed the whole race. His run through Appia Antica enlightened only by torches became pure history in athletics, as well as his winning photo while crossing the finish line at the Arco di Costantino.

Once again, gold medals, this time during the World Championships September 6, 1987 with the victory of Kenyan-Japanese Douglas Wakiihuri, worldwide idol for runners.

The marathon we all know and that will be held on Sunday, 29 March 2020 has its roots in 1995 with Italia Marathon Club, and has been awarded with the prestigious Gold Label IAAF in 2011. In 2019 FIDAL hosted the event and for 2020 a new organizing committee took place, made up by Infront, Corriere dello Sport – Stadio, Italia Marathon Club and Atielle Roma.

More than 115 countries took part in the past editions, whilst in the Hall of fame Ethiopia has 7 winners, Kenya has 13 and 3 are Italian with Stefano Baldini, Ruggero Pertile and Alberico Di Cecco. Not only foreigners but also a lot of Italy thanks to the victories of Franca Fiacconi, Maura Viceconte, Maria Guida, Maria Cocchetti, Gloria Marconi and Ornella Ferrara.

All-time record holder is Benjamin Kiptoo Kolum (Kenya) whom in 2009 crossed the finish line at Fori Imperiali in 2h 07′ 18″, whilst Kebede Megertu Alemu (Ethiopia) is the fastest woman ever in Rome who ran in 2h 22′ 52″.

CURIOSITY   ──────

During the Holy Year, the marathon was held on New Year’s Eve, January 1, 2000, a day in history.

Unforgettable the success in 2010 ok Siraj Gena from Kenya whom crossed the finish line barefooted to honour abebe Bikila. In 1960 Bikila was the first white African to win an Olympic Gold medal and ran the whole marathon barefooted, he had been given new shoes hours before the start, but he preferred to run barefooted. Half a century later Siraj Gena took his shoes off 500 meters from the finish line where one of the sons of Bikila was watching.

Male winners

11995Belayneh TadesseEthiopia2h 10' 13"
21996Moges TayeEthiopia2h 12' 03"
31997Dube JilloEthiopia2h 13' 08"
41998Stefano BaldiniItaly2h 09' 33"
51999Philip TanuiKenya2h 09' 56"
62000Philip TanuiKenya2h 08' 27"
72001Henry CheronoKenya2h 11' 27"
82002Vincent KipsosKenya2h 09' 30"
92003Frederick CheronoKenya2h 08' 47"
102004Ruggero PertileItaly2h 10' 12"
112005Alberico Di CeccoItaly2h 08' 02"
122006David KipkorirKenya2h 08' 38"
132007Elias Chelimo KemboiKenya2h 09' 36"
142008Yego Jonathan KiptooKenya2h 09' 57"
152009Benjamin Kiptoo KolumKenya2h 07' 18"
162010Siraj GenaEthiopia2h 08' 39"
172011Chumba Dixon KiptoloKenya2h 08' 45"
182012Luka Lokobe KandaKenya2h 08' 04"
192013Getachew Terfa NegariEthiopia2h 07' 56"
202014Legese Shume HailuEthiopia2h 09' 47"
212015Abebe Negewo DegefaEthiopia2h 12' 23"
222016Amos KiprutoKenya2h 08' 12"
232017Shura Kitata TolaEthiopia2h 07' 30"
242018Cosmas Jairus Kipchoge BirechKenya2h 08' 05"
252019Heyi Tebalu ZawudeEthiopia2h 08' 37"

In red the current record.

Female winners

11995Elena SipatovaRussia2h 37' 46"
21996Fatuma RobaEthiopia2h 29' 05"
31997Jane SalumaeEstonia2h 31' 41"
41998Franca FiacconiItaly2h 28' 12"
51999Maura ViceconteItaly2h 29' 36"
62000Tegla LoroupeKenya2h 32' 03"
72001Maria GuidaItaly2h 30' 42"
82002Maria CocchettiItaly2h 33' 06"
92003Gloria MarconiItaly2h 29' 35"
102004Ornella FerraraItaly2h 27' 49"
112005Silviya SkvortosovaRussia2h 28' 01"
122006Tetyana HladyrUkraine2h 25' 44"
132007Souad Ait SalemAlgeria2h 25' 08"
142008Galina BogomolovaRussia2h 22' 53"
152009Firehiwot DadoEthiopia2h 27' 09"
162010Firehiwot DadoEthiopia2h 25' 28"
172011Firehiwot DadoEthiopia2h 24' 13"
182012Hellen KimutaiKenya2h 31' 11"
192013Helena KiropKenya2h 24' 40"
202014Geda Ayelu LemmaEthiopia2h 34' 49"
212015Meseret Kitata TowalkEthiopia2h 30' 25"
222016Tusa RahmaEthiopia2h 28' 49"
232017Tusa RahmaEthiopia2h 27' 23"
242018Tusa RahmaEthiopia2h 23' 46"
252019Kebede Megertu AlemuEthiopia2h 22' 52"

In red the current record.

     FACEBOOK                        |                            INSTAGRAM                        |                            YOUTUBE

powered by